European Success Story for Business Studies Students

BGS Success in Euroscola Competition

Eight Year 13 boys from Bangor Grammar School recently represented the UK at a EUROSCOLA event held in the European Parliament in Strasbourg on 16 January 2009.
The boys submitted the winning entry in a competition to design a leaflet which would encourage young people to vote in the European elections, scheduled for June 2009. Their prize was an all expenses paid trip to Strasbourg for themselves and their teacher.

The EUROSCOLA programme was launched by the European Parliament to bring together young people from across the EU, to enable them to gain an insight into the workings of the European Parliament while learning about the lives, views and expectations of young people from other EU countries.

The pupils from Bangor Grammar joined young people from 16 other member states to debate the future of the EU and the effects that European integration will have on citizens. All those attending got the opportunity to take the seats of MEP’s and to use the Parliament’s electronic voting system throughout the course of the day.
Jonathan Weir introduced his school in French and talked briefly about the education system in Northern Ireland. All boys participated in the working group discussions which addressed European citizenship, the environment, energy, innovation, and social policy.

It was a very informative and enjoyable visit for all involved. In recognition of their success in the Euroscola competition and participation in the event, all boys received a certificate signed by the President of the European Parliament. As a follow up to their trip to Strasbourg, the boys held an Open Night Referendum in the school on 22nd January 2009, on whether the UK should now adopt the euro as its currency. The vote was 28% in favour, 72% against.

Pictured outside the Louise Weiss Building in Strasbourg are (from left to right) are: Alex Turnbull, Jonathan Weir, Christopher Speers, Matthew Best, Dean Moore, Kristopher Jones, Gregory Rimmer and Stuart Higgs.