Latest News

Show list Show Grid
  • Thursday 10 May 2018 2018 CCF Promotions Click for full details.
  • Monday 30 April 2018 Chamber Choir Report Click for the full 2017/18 report.
  • Wednesday 18 April 2018 CCF Awards 2018 Click to view all awards.
  • Wednesday 11 April 2018 Sgt Watton Master Cadet Course The master cadet course was an amazing opportunity that anyone who gets a chance should take. The course is challenging physically and mentally. I and the rest of my platoon took part in a range of activities across the syllabus over the four-day exercise period.
  • Thursday 22 March 2018 BGS Wall of Fame launch SPORTING stars of the past six decades gathered at Bangor Grammar School on Tuesday evening for the launch of its new Sporting Wall of Fame.
  • Wednesday 21 March 2018 CCF Easter Camp 2018 . The cadets paraded in their matching hoodies all ready for the long journey across the water and down through Scotland into England. The destination was Halton Camp in Lancaster.
  • Sunday 18 March 2018 National Navigation Award Assessment “If it’s not raining then we’re not training” as the old Army saying goes and that was true when 34 of our APCA (Year 12) group set off for their assessment at Crawfordsburn Country Park.
  • Saturday 17 March 2018 DoE Yr 13: Gold Training Expedition to the Mournes The Year 13 Gold group consisted of 13 pupils assisted by two staff. Training took place in Tollymore Forest Park where the boys refreshed their campcraft skills, pitching their tents before cooking on the trangia stoves.
  • Friday 9 March 2018 Minor Boys' League at the Ulster Finals Congratulations to the Minor Badminton team of Nathan Belshaw, 9SJW; Ross Fulton, 10NN; Rory Patterson, 9MN and Ethan Mairs, 10DAH for winning the Division A Minor Boys? League at the Ulster Finals.
  • Friday 9 March 2018 APCA & Naval 2 Star Weekend On the weekend of 9-11 March cadets took part in the cold and wet for some focused training.
  • Wednesday 7 March 2018 Heaney trip Pupils took part in a programme specifically designed for AS Level pupils studying the Robert Frost and Seamus Heaney poetry anthology.
  • Tuesday 27 February 2018 Year 10 Parents Evening Please view the attached documents.
  • Saturday 24 February 2018 Medallion Bowl 2017-18 Please click for full report.
  • Sunday 18 February 2018 Orienteering Competition BGS CCF entered a very strong team into the Brigade Cadet Orienteering Competition being held in the grounds of Campbell College.
  • Friday 9 February 2018 Choices Booklet Please see the attached PDF if you were receiving errors via email.
  • Tuesday 6 February 2018 District Cross Country Championships 37 BGS athletes braved the cold conditions at Campbell and competed admirably in the District Cross Country Championships.
  • Wednesday 31 January 2018 CCF Recruit Weekend The CCF took part in two recruit weekends for the year 10 cadets, in total over 80 cadets took part in these weekends.
  • Monday 8 January 2018 BANGOR GRAMMAR CADETS DISCOVER LOCAL HEROES OF WW1 A challenge to find out more about the history of World War I by researching stories of ?local heroes? has connected North Down teenagers with heroes of the past.
  • Monday 18 December 2017 The UK Mathematics Trust Senior Challenge The UK Mathematics Trust holds mathematics challenges for varying levels of mathematical abilities. Many of the boys have achieved Bronze and Silver Awards in the Senior Challenge held in November.
  • Thursday 7 December 2017 Shakespeare Workshop hosted by Queen's University Year 12 participate in a Shakespeare workshop.
  • Thursday 23 November 2017 Drama: Blood Brothers Click for full details!
  • Wednesday 8 November 2017 Champion of Champions tournament Congratulations to Ben Dempster who finished 2nd place in yesterday?s Badminton ?Champion of Champions? tournament in Lisburn Racquets club.
  • Monday 23 October 2017 Mandarin Classes Lili and Candice from the Confucius Institute teaching the boys how to write Mandarin characters with brushes.
  • Sunday 8 October 2017 Sponsored Abseil On Sunday 8 boys took part in a Sponsored Abseil down at the Europa Hotel to raise money for their trip to Uganda in 2018.
  • Friday 6 October 2017 MacMillan Coffee Morning Bangor Grammar took part in the World?s Biggest Coffee Morning for MacMillan Cancer raising an incredible ?515.25.
  • Wednesday 4 October 2017 Downtown Radio Interview David Gordon invited three members of the Uganda 2108 team to be on his Sunday Reflections Show on Downtown Radio.
  • Friday 29 September 2017 Year 11 Medallion XV - New Shirt Sponsor Mrs. Huddleson presented the Medallion XV with their new shirts for the 2017-18 season this morning.
  • Wednesday 27 September 2017 Playground Equipment for Coo-Rom A thank you from Coo-Rom!
  • Monday 4 September 2017 Awards Assembly Year 8 having attended their first Awards Assembly celebrating academic excellence in external exams.
  • Sunday 3 September 2017 Silver Medals for Ulster U18 Hockey Team Harry Dow and Stephen Hamill have won Silver Medals for Ulster U18 Hockey Team.
  • View archived news items

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed